Database List (alphabetical order)

This is a selected list of databases available at YHC. There is an extensive list of the GALILEO offerings at their website.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

ABI/INFORM Complete provides full text for over 1,461 U.S. and international journals covering all aspect of business and management.

 

ABI/INFORM Dateline is a full-text database that focuses on local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.

 

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

 

Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

 

The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930

 

Annals of American History Online includes the full text of over 2000 primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism.

 

ArchivesUSA is a unique database for scholars and researchers who use primary source materials. It provides location information for primary source materials.

 

ArticleFirst contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.  

 

Biology: The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information. Browser plugins may be required for optimal viewing. 

BioOne.1 and BioOne.2 databases are the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, acaeme and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a unique, valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals.

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 3.8 million book titles in a wide range of formats, including large print and books on tape.  

Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) provides full text for over 2,345 journals covering all aspect of business. In the advanced search interface, quick access is available to company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and articles.

 

Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics Online The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.  

 

The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States.

 

CLASE and PERIÓDICA is an index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities compiled by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

 

CollegeSource Online features over 20,000 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools along with institutional profiles for all accredited colleges in the United States.

 

Computer Science Index™ (CSI) (formerly Computer Literature Index) offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at scholarly and technical levels of computer science.

 

Computer Source provides the latest information and current trends in high technology.

 

Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.

 

CQ Historic Documents Database A one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year’s key events.

 

The Digital Library of Georgia is a virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia. Many of the materials are from the special collections of GALILEO member institutions.  The Digital Library includes the Byron Herbert Reece Digital Library developed at Young Harris College.

 

Dissertation Abstracts / Digital Dissertations at ProQuest covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Approximately 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year..

 

Back to top

 

The Encyclopeadia Britannica database includes more than 73,000 articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including more than 8,000 articles that are not found in the print set.

 

Encyclopedia of Animals is a full-text database in Searchasaurus of over 2,200 entries about the life and habitat of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and dinosaurs appropriate for the research needs of school students.

 

Environment Complete offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

 

ERIC (at EBSCOhost), Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

 

ERIC (at FirstSearch), Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

 

Back to top

 

GAcollege411 is a resource freely available on the Web designed to help Georgia high school students and others who are interested in attending college explore careers, prepare for college and learn about financial aid opportunities.

 

Georgia Census Data  Quick statistical facts about the state and all Georgia counties

 

The Georgia Code is the compilation of the laws of the state of Georgia that are currently in force. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number.

 

georgia.gov is the online connection to the State of Georgia. It provides access to information on the many services and programs available in Georgia. In additional to legislative and government agency information, there are links to resources for travel information about the state, local and regional government, and the governor's office.

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.

 

Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles includes brief information on 15,000 companies, including an overview of company operations, addresses, phone and fax numbers, names of key officers, a list of top competitors, sales and employment figures, and stock symbols.

 

Back to top

 

JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. The Arts & Sciences I Collection includes the complete back runs of 119 titles in fifteen disciplines and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

 

LexisNexis Academic contains approximately 5,000 publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).

 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

 

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.

 

Literature Online Reference Edition is a collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from 103 literature journals.

 

Literature Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.  USE NOTE: YHC has purchased only a 2 user license at this time. If both the licenses are in use, you will get an error message. Please try back at a different time.  If you continue to be unable to access the database, please let us know.

 

Back to top

 

MasterFILE Premier is a general database created for a public library audience.

 

MEDLINEplus, a service of the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health, provides resources on common diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, directories for locating hospitals and doctors, information on prescription and non-prescription drugs, and more information of interest to the public.

 

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary is available as part of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.

 

The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.

 

Naxos Music Library is a unique resource, giving you online access to the entire Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of recordings. YHC has a 3 user license.

 

netLibrary provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.  YHC has purchased almost 50,000 titles that are available through the online catalog or via the netLibrary site.

 

The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

New York Times Historical Newspaper  A fully searchable database of the New York Times daily newspaper from 1851 forward.  Includes advertisements and PDF files of the newspaper pages.

 

Newspaper Source provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper Source as well as cover to cover coverage of The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text from more than 180 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News,

 

The NLM Gateway allow users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Resources include MEDLINE/PubMed,  

TOXLINE,  MedlinePlus, ClinicalTrials.gov, HSRProj,  and HSDB.  More complete explanations of these databases are available by individual title.

 

NoveList is an online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested.

 

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, a collection of art encyclopedias and image collections.

 

Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past

 

The PapersFirst database provides access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide, PapersFirst is a major new research aid, covering every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast proceedings collection since October 1993.

 

The ProceedingsFirst database provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each ProceedingsFirst record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.

 

The Professional Development Collection is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.

 

ProQuest Newspapers provides full-text access to five major national newspapers. Coverage includes full-text articles but not advertisements, illustrations, or photographs. Coverage is from Christian Science Monitor (1988-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times; Late Edition, East Coast (1980-), Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (1984-), The Washington Post (1987-).

 

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a database with more than 470 full-text journals. It covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

 

Back to top

 

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

 

The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a database with more than 243 full-text journals. It covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions

 

Research Library from ProQuest provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

 

The Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

 

TOPICsearch is a current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics. The database contains full text for over 66,000 articles from more than 2,700 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

 

Back to top

 

Vanishing Georgia contains nearly 18,000 photographs from the Georgia Archives documenting over 100 years of the state’s history. Topics covered include, but are not limited to, family and business life, street scenes and architecture, agriculture, school and civic activities, important individuals and events in Georgia history, and landscapes.

 

Virtual Chemistry Lab or the Chemistry Collective provides scenario-based learning activities for in-class or homework assignments for students. Educators can find activities for their courses, provide feedback on them, create and share activities with others, and discuss issues related to chemistry education. The ChemCollective is part of the National Science Digital Library, which is funded by the National Science Foundation.

 

Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Select Edition is a multidisciplinary, 100 % full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts.

 

WorldCat The WorldCat database is the world's most comprehensive bibliography with bibliographic records representing information spanning 4,000 years of knowledge. It is the OCLC Online Union Catalog of information contributed by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries worldwide.

 

Back to top